Lighting design student

​The Chicago Tribune called us “a legendary training ground,” and it’s true—The Theatre School at DePaul has been a place where industry greats have cut their teeth since 1925.



The Theatre School trains students to the highest level of professional skill and artistry in an inclusive and diverse conservatory setting.

The Theatre School Values


We advance intellectual development and ethical consciousness. We foster moral, spiritual, social, political, and artistic growth. We promote participation in civic life.


We inspire respect for self, for others, for the profession, and for humanity. We embrace the Vincentian model of service.


We build a community founded on the principles of creativity and freedom of expression. We value initiative, innovation, exploration, and risk taking.


We celebrate the primacy of the imagination in our work.


We believe theatre is a place for reflection, awakening, and the development of moral awareness.
— Adopted by faculty and staff of The Theatre School at DePaul University, 2016


Alumni Network

After nearly a century of training generations of theatre artists, The Theatre School claims an extraordinary array of talented and experienced alumni who have made an incalculable impact on the American theatre. We are so proud to call them our own.

Learn More


The Theatre School has a nine-decade tradition of educating, training and inspiring those who will shape the future of American theatre.

Learn More

Annual Report

Each year The Theatre School reaches thousands of audience members while its world-renowned faculty shapes the industry through diverse professional activities.

View the PDF

The Theatre School Board

The Theatre School Board has two primary functions: to raise funds to support the school’s programs and scholarship awards, and to raise the visibility and stature of the school in Chicago and nationally.

There are three categories of membership: Sustaining Members, who actively support the mission of the school through advocacy and philanthropy; Professional Associates, who promote connections between the school and the entertainment industry; and Honorary Board Members, elected in recognition of their dedication and service to The Theatre School.

We are grateful for the many ways in which our board members contribute to the life of the school.

Sustaining Board Members

Joseph Antunovich
Antunovich & Associates
Paul Chiaravalle
President & CEO
Chiaravalle & Associates
Michael J. Faron
W.E. O'Neil Construction Company
Sondra Healy*
Chairman of the Board
Turtle Wax, Inc.

Tamara L. Meyer
CEO & Founder
Lakewood Strategy & Consulting LLC
Brian Montgomery
Former Vice President, Labor and Employee Relations
Exelon Corporation
Allison Peevy
Documentary Filmmaker
Linda Sieracki
Richard Sieracki​
The Kenneth Group, LLC

Professional Associates

Paula Cale Lisbe
Glenn Davis
Co-Artistic Director
Steppenwolf Theatre Company
Scott L. Ellis
Interim Artistic Director
Roundabout Theatre Company
Zach Helm
Screenwriter & Director
Criss Henderson
Executive & Creative Producer
Founding Executive Director
Chicago Shakespeare Theater
Amy Pietz
John C. Reilly
Charlayne Woodard
Actor & Playwright

Honorary Board Members

Merle Reskin
In Memoriam: Merle Reskin 1929-2023
The Theatre School celebrates the life of Merle Reskin, longtime benefactor and champion of the arts who passed away at age 93. Merle's support empowered generations of artists to pursue their craft and creativity. On behalf of the entire Theatre School community, we honor Merle's indelible impact on the arts.​

*Chair Emeritus